Herbs and spices are simple. They are usually ground, shredded or whole seeds or leaves. No gluten there, right? Well, not so fast.
While bottled herbs and spices that contain just one ingredient are almost always gluten-free, there are a few secret sources of gluten that may be lurking in your spice cabinet.
Here are 3 surprising facts about gluten in herbs and spices…
The general rules about gluten-free shopping apply when spice shopping. Read labels, and know which brands are reliable about avoiding cross-contamination and labeling allergens.
McCormick’s and Frontier are two brands that are especially consistent about disclosing any gluten-containing ingredients clearly on the packaging. Now that the FDA requires allergen labeling for wheat, all brands should disclose in the ingredient list if there is wheat in any products, but they may not declare barley, rye or (non-gluten-free) oats based ingredients as clearly. In addition, some brands label their gluten-free products as such in a clear place on the label, which can help make shopping easier.
Although gluten is present in some spice mixes, gluten-free alternatives abound, and recipes for making them from scratch abound as well. Making spice mixes from scratch also helps you avoid MSG, preservatives, fillers and flavorings.
By Giliah Nagar at Celiact.com